close menu

Our People

Tia Hitchon

Corporate Development

Tia settled in New Zealand after a 10-year career in international investment banking and finance in London. Her management and organisational skills transferred well into the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority where she continued to provide strategic and operational advice to the Deputy Chief Executive of Communications. Her role extended to include detailed reporting and project management to a National Government level.

Phone. +64 21 207 3518


Matthew Turnbull

Financial Controller

Matthew is an accounting professional and brings to Powerhouse his skills in financial reporting and data analysis. Matthew qualified as a Chartered Accountant in Northern Ireland in 2012 and worked as an auditor for Grant Thornton in the UK and New Zealand for seven years before joining Powerhouse.


Phone. +64 22 064 7709


Russell Yardley

Executive Chairman and Acting Chief Executive Officer

Russell has been a professional Non-Executive Director and Chairman for the past decade following a career in the informational technology and communications sector. He is Chairman of ASX listed Tesserent Limited, on the boards of two WPP companies Wunderman and Bienalto, Chairman of the Australian Federal Government funded National eResearch Collaboration Resources and Tools project, a member of the Victorian Government Purchasing Board as well as being an honorary member of the board of the Alannah and Madeline Foundation. After spending more than 7 years at IBM he founded his first company Decision Engineers that was merged with ASI to form Applied Learning that was then listed on the ASX in 1993. Russell was the Victorian State Chair 2010-2011 and the National Treasurer 2011-2014 of the Australian Information Industry Association, was made an Honorary Member of the Australian Computer Society in 2010 and made a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2012.

Appointed to the Board on 28/2/2017.

Ian Lothian

Non-Executive Independent Director

Mr Lothian is an experienced CA (CAANZ) with a background in business advisory and audit services, and strong commercial experience in horticultural exporting and development finance. As an Audit Director at Audit New Zealand he held a variety of senior audit roles in the NZ public sector, including local government, health, tertiary education and the Governments of Samoa and Tokelau. He holds an MBA with Distinction from the Edinburgh Business School at Heriot Watt University, and as a Chartered Member of the NZ Institute of Directors, he now acts as a professional independent director.


Appointed to the Board on 2 April 2019