Board of directors

The powerHouse board is made up of leaders in technology investment and commercialisation.

  • Kerry McDonaldKerry McDonald – Chair
    Kerry is a company director and advisor with experience in a wide range of private and public sector activities in New Zealand and Australia. He is Chairman of Opus International Consultants and of BNZ Wellington Partners, Deputy Chairman of the NZ Institute of Economic Research, a director of Ruapehu Alpine Lifts and the National Army Museum and a member of the Advisory Board of Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd. Kerry recently chaired the 2013/2014 review of the Government’s funding of Centres of Research Excellence and has previously been a director of many other companies/organisations. Kerry has an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Canterbury. Please note, Kerry is not on the powerHouse Investment Committee that makes investment decisions for the powerHouse funds.
  • Rich ChristieRick Christie
    Rick is a professional Director and company Chairman with appointments in both the private and public sectors. He has had considerable experience as a Chief Executive with his most recent position being CEO of diversified investment company Rangatira Ltd., from which he retired in 2004. Prior to that appointment he had extensive involvement in the export sector, including Tradenz (The New Zealand Trade Development Board) where he was Chief Executive from 1990 to 1996. Rick’s extensive background in management included 21 years in the oil industry in New Zealand and overseas.
  • Stephen HampsonStephen Hampson – Managing Director
    Stephen’s career has been dedicated to transforming new knowledge into commercial success. Stephen’s commercialisation career in Europe included fast-growth execution and business improvement in several acquired companies he was appointed to lead, including trade sale of one of these companies and domination of a global niche in another. Returning to New Zealand, Stephen was inaugural CEO of the award winning Canterbury Innovation Incubator (Cii) before establishing powerHouse in 2006. In this role, he has overseen the incubation and growth of more than 50 new companies.
  • John HunterJohn Hunter
    John has extensive chief financial officer experience as well as chief operating officer and general management experience, including HR, IT and legal responsibilities. John is familiar with manufacturing, finance, retail, wholesale, information technology and primary sectors, with extensive board level experience as a senior executive as well as holding board positions as a director and Board chair, public company reporting and representation. Please note John is not on the powerHouse Investment Committee that makes investment decisions for the powerHouse funds.
  • Di McCarthyDi McCarthy
    Di is a scientist with 52 publications in international peer-reviewed journals and one co-authored book in experimental psychology and behavioural neuroscience. Di has 20 years’ experience in management and governance roles in the tertiary education, science and health sectors and recently retired as Chief Executive of the Royal Society of New Zealand. Di has governance and management experience in the science, health and education sectors and has proven very effective in building stakeholder relationships.
  • John WalleyJohn Walley
    John has international experience in research, development, manufacturing and distribution companies in the marine, electronics and software industries. He is a Chartered Engineer, Fellow of the Institute of Professional Engineers NZ (IPENZ), Member of The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management. He is a director and chair of several companies and has a number of investments in early-stage and start-up technology companies. John is a member of the powerHouse Investment Committee.
  • Steve WilsonSteve Wilson
    Steve has 33 years experience as CEO of both public and private companies. He is currently Executive Director of Talbot Technologies Ltd, a technical plastics manufacturer and exporter. He is a Member of The New Zealand Order of Merit, a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management, a Life Member of Plastics New Zealand, and a director and shareholder of a number of technology companies. Steve is also a Member of the Advisory Board, Mechanical Engineering, University of Canterbury. Steve is a member of the powerHouse Investment Committee.